Club History

Our club was originally the Irvine chapter of the Loeshhorn's Running Club, which had clubs affiliated with John Loeshhorn's chain of running stores. When the Irvine shop closed in 1984, the chapter became the South Coast Roadrunners. The Fountain Valley Loeshhorn's shop eventully became the first Snail's Pace store, and as that chain has grown, so has its club. We have, and always will be, "cousins" to the Snails Pace club, which is why our relationship is warm and we have many members in common.

In 1993, we began the tradition of having an annual gala banquet and presenting awards to members for service and accomplishments. Many of our awards are named in honor of distinguished members who were instrumental or inspirational in getting our Club off the ground and making it what it is.

Club Officers

We'd be nowhere without our officers. Thanks for your service!

YearPresidentVice PresidentSecretaryTreasurer
2016-2017Thomas FungLillian BertramStacey LaRuffaMike Bertam
2015-2016Matt HoodRob HarrisLilian BertramThomas Fung
2014-2015Stacey LaRuffaDavid SchillerRob HarrisLisa Eiler
2013-2014Stacey DippongDavid SchillerRob HarrisLisa Eiler
2012-2013Sherri EllerbyLeilani RiosNoreene MatsudaEric Dangott
2011-2012Greg HanssenVicki BallonAngel CardozaStacey Dippong
2010-2011Greg HanssenOrhan BekerTonson TongJohn Gardiner
2009-2010Greg JonesBrad WobigTonson TongOrhan Beker
2008-2009Amelia VrabelGreg JonesTonson TongOrhan Beker
2007-2008Jon ResnickAmelia VrabelJannay Morrison/ Tonson TongSue Zihlmann
2006-2007Danny SteinJon ResnickMolly Regan/ Amelia VrabelSue Zihlmann
2005-2006Danny SteinMark HayakawaMolly ReganAmy Katz
2004-2005Danny SteinJeff HindmanMolly DonnellanRob Harris
2003-2004Molly DonnellanDanny SteinJenn WaltRob Harris
2002-2003Rob HarrisRob MichieNanci GoedeckerJon Resnick
2001-2002Rob HarrisRob MichieNanci GoedeckerCindi Harris
2000-2001Paul StamNanci GoedeckerYvonne PhillipsMarci Minamide
1999-2000Robert Rye/ Paul McBrideSherri EllerbyTy PippenSteve Watanabe
1998-1999Paul McBrideRobert RyeEd CoffeySteve Watanabe
1997-1998Jeff HindmanSantiago NomenJennifer NoyesJoe Tyndall
1996-1997Andy FroumisNanci GoedeckerKaren AlstonSantiago Nomen
1995-1996Molly DonnellanRon BruggerPat RowlandSteve Watanabe
1994-1995Mike FriedlMolly DonnellanMike LarkinSteve Watanabe
1993-1994Laura Brugger   
1992-1993Laura Brugger  Mike Friedl
1991-1992Robert Kuntz  Mike Friedl
1990-1991Robert Kuntz   
1989-1990You-Lin Shaw   

The Ideal Runner Award

The male award has been named since 1996 for Dave Dixon, the female award has been named since 1999 for Debbie Seale. This award is presented to the member who exemplefies the running life as a friend, competitor, and in service to the Club.

YearIdeal Male RunnerIdeal Female Runner
2015Mike BertramCathy Blakesley
2014Mike FriedlSherri Ellerby
2013Jon ResnickLisa Eiler
2012Tonson TongLinda Hammond
2011Matt HoodDanielle Gordanier
2010Ken AtterholtAmelia Vrabel
2009Greg HanssenStacey Dippong
2008Fred CowlesLeilani Rios
2007Michael ReevesNoreene Matsuda
2006Tonson TongAmy Katz
2005Bob MorrisJeannie Leitner
2004Rob HarrisJodie Kinney
2003Pete BoisineauLois Edds
2002Danny SteinCathy Shargay
2001Ed CoffeyJeannie Palermo
2000Jeff HindmanSherri Ellerby
1999Mel SchultzJennifer Noyes
1998David SchillerKaren Alston
1997Robert RyeMarci Minamide
1996Mike FriedlLois Edds
1995Andy FroumisMolly Donnellan
1994Dave DixonMellie Clarke
1993Sal ChaidezYou-lin Shaw Kingery

The Most Improved Runner Award

This award has been named since 1999 for Ron Lowe. This is often a very difficult award to give to only two people as many club members make great improvements over the course of the season.

YearMale RunnerFemale Runner
2015Daniel EvoraLillian Bertram
2014Fred AyersNoreene Matsuda
2013Dave FlahiveJudy Sweet
2012John GardinerStacey Dippong
2011Ross KleinElyse Shimada
2010Vince LowderKathleen Curley
2009Mike SellersErica Kotteakos
2008Dave LitvakSherri Ellerby
2007Dan TemplinSue Zihlmann
2006Mike ConnorsJane Crewe
2005Jim GrantAmy Katz
2004Tom DellnerAmy Katz
2003Fred CowlesJeanie Leitner
2002Tim MaraMarissa Hindman
2001David SchillerCathy Shargay
2000Tonson TongCindi Gray
1999Steve McDonaldCathy Shargay
1998Jerry HarberSherri Ellerby
1997Alan Friedl 
1996Brian Copeland 
1995 Jan Peters
1993Eric Fried 

Volunteer of the Year

This award is selected by a vote of the membership. There is a lot of work that goes on behind the scenes; from setting up the tent to organizing social events to taking half the club wine tasting... Thank you!

2015Ken Atterholt
2014Joanna Pallo
2013Cathy Shargay
2012Leilani Rios
2011Ken Atterholt
2010Leilani Rios
2009Fred Cowles
2008Cathy Shargay
2007Noreene Matsuda
2006Mike Friedl
2005Mark Hayakawa
2004Fred Cowles
2003Cathy Shargay
2002David Schiller
2001David Schiller
2000David Schiller
1999Ed Coffey
1998Jeannie Palermo
1997Julie Francisco
1996Jeannie Palermo
1995Jeannie Palermo
1994Jeannie Palermo
1993Susan Kuntz

The President's Award

This award has been named since 1998 for Robert Kuntz. It is presented by the president to the person whom he or she feels has made the biggest contribution to the club during the year.

2015David Schiller
2014Lisa Eiler
2013Noreene Matsuda
2012Ken Atterholt
2011Amelia Vrabel
2010John Gardiner
2009Greg Jones
2008Danny Stein
2007David Schiller
2006Mark Hayakawa
2005Molly Donnellan
2004Mike Friedl
2003Molly Donnellan
2002Jan Peters
2001Nanci Goedecker
2000Molly Donnellan
1999Ed Coffey
1998Molly Donnellan
1997Jeannie Palermo
1996Susan Kuntz
1995Laura Brugger
1994Phil Beaudoin
1993Robert Kuntz

The SCRR Grand Prix Winner

This award has been named for Lois Edds since 1999. This award takes some serious talent, dedication and tenacity to win and it's getting tougher every year. Learn more about the Grand Prix.

2015Sherri Ellerby
2014Sherri Ellerby
2013Bob Morris
2012Dave Parsel
2011Dave Parsel
2010John Gardiner
2009Fred Cowles
2008Sherri Ellerby
2007David Schiller
2006Bob Morris
2005Fred Cowles
2004Fred Cowles
2003Fred Cowles
2002Bob Morris
2001Lois Edds
2000Bob Morris
1999Bob Morris
1998Lois Edds
1997Lois Edds
1996Lois Edds
1995Lois Edds